Sunday, September 23, 2007

Seitan Steaks, Mashed Potatoes, Whole Wheat Biscuits, Herbed Brown Gravy, Tofu Cheesecake

Dinner by Juan with a little help from Amy and Dan



• Seitan Steaks

• Mashed Potatoes

• Whole Wheat Biscuits

• Herbed Brown Gravy

• Tofu Cheesecake

Juan decided to experiment with his usual seitan recipe by slicing the unboiled seitan into "steaks" and then boiling and baking them. He also used no sage which is quite a change from his usual flavor and I was able to taste the tomato juice in the final product. They came out the perfectly!

The potatoes are from our garden's harvest. Just a quick boil and mashed with some salt. Sometimes we add pepper and oil, but tonight he kept it simple.

I helped by mixing up some biscuits and gravy. The biscuit recipe is the "Jane's Good Biscuits" one from The New Farm Cookbook — which if I haven't mentioned enough in here to make you go buy it, please follow the link and add it to your cookbook collection. You won't be sorry!

The Herbed Brown Gravy is from "The Nutritional Yeast Cookbook" by Joanne Stepaniak. Nutritional yeast (or "nut yeast" as we affectionally call it) is a dried yellow yeast that we buy in flakes which has a cheesy flavor. You can read here for more in depth information from Wikipedia. I love it on popcorn with some soy sauce sprayed on.

Dessert was a surprise made by Dan. It was made with some of his homemade tofu and Sandhill wheat and honey (gathered only 3 miles away). Below is a photo, but it doesn't really do it justice:

2 comments:

Megan said...

Those seitan steaks look yummy!

But how is the cheesecake vegan when it has honey in it?

Amy Skyhouse said...

Thanks for the compliment, Megan!

As for honey, it seems that vegans fall into two camps on the subject. Some believe that it's not an animal product because it's from an insect. Others still consider it to be an animal product.

In Bobolink, there are some of each and in general, we stock honey, but tend not to use it in cooking co-op meals. Once in a while, when someone does (for whatever reason), it's well advertised so the non-honey vegans don't eat it. Sometimes, they make a non-honey alternative, too!